SPECTRAL I: What They Hear in the Dark by Gary McMahon

An absence is more terrifying than a presence…

Rob and Becky bought the old place after the death of their son, to repair and renovate – to patch things up and make the building habitable.

They both knew that they were trying to fix more than the house, but the cracks in their marriage could not be papered over.

Then they found the Quiet Room.”

—()—

This is the final cover artwork for the first Spectral Press chapbook, which goes to press next week and will be available in January. It’s an absolutely cracking story – a great opener for the brand new library of quality chapbooks.

SPECTRAL SUBSCRIPTIONS AND INDIVIDUAL COPIES PREORDERS AVAILABLE NOW!

Do you want your name listed as a founder subscriber in the first Spectral chapbook? If so, then act fast, before Monday 6th December 2010! A yearly subscription will cost £10UK/£12EU /$20US/ $25US RoW (all prices inclusive of postage and packing). Individual chapbooks will be available for £3.50UK/£4EU/$6.50US/$10RoW (again all prices inclusive of p+p). You can either pay via Paypal or cheque: Paypal is spectralpress[at]gmail[dot]com and for details of how to pay by cheque, please send an email to the same address and I’ll get back to you forthwith.

SPECTRAL PRIZE-DRAW

As an added incentive, if you do choose to subscribe before the end of this year (31st December 2010 closing date), your name will be entered into the prize-draw, where you’ll stand the chance of winning a specially signed and framed edition of  Gary McMahon’s chapbook. Alongside it will be a copy of the annotated manuscript, ie  Gary has scrawled all over it in his best red biro – he’s even signed it and ‘illuminated’ it with a little doodle of a smiley horned devil on it as well. The winner will even get a free subscription extension for another year on top of that… now that’s what I call a bargain! (Winner will be notified by mid-January)

Would love to hear from you!!

5 comments on “SPECTRAL I: What They Hear in the Dark by Gary McMahon

  1. Hi,

    I read about your press at Dark Valentine Magazine. How do you choose your authors? And is it possible to submit stories?

    all the best,
    Eveline Leclercq

    • Hi Eveline… thanks for commenting and for your interest in Spectral…

      Spectral Press is an invite-only publisher at the moment, simply because, as the chapbooks are only going to be published quarterly at most, I ask writers whose work I already know and like…. I am also a book-reviewer so I often come across writers that way and if something strikes me in a particularly strong way I’ll ask them to submit something. I do know most of the authors personally, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that I won’t publish something by someone I don’t know… if I come across someone whose work I’ve not heard of and I like, I’ll ask them if they’d be interested.

      It’s also a matter of managing my time – I am involved in a few projects which inevitably means that I don’t have much time to spare. BUT, I am, however, looking to hold an occasional contest where I will throw open the doors and invite submissions from both new and old writers – the prize being a chapbook publication of the winning story. This depends on the success of Spectral of course.

      Have you been published before? If so, could you point me in the direction of some of your work, please? That would be a good start… =D

      Simon

      • Hello,

        Whow, I realize this answer is VERY late, due to various reasons. I have been published once on the Dark Valentine Magazine website (I discovered this press because of that site). Unfortunately, the site is shut down now, but I still have the story if you like 🙂

        All the best,
        Eveline

  2. Pingback: Today’s Spectral review… « Ramblings of a Tattooed Head

  3. Pingback: From Russia with Love… « Ramblings of a Tattooed Head

Leave a comment